9 Days 9 Colours of Navratri

Ria Saxena
October 3, 2016
Day 1: Goddess Durga as Shailputri
Goddess Durga is worshipped as Shailputri. ‘Shail’ means mountains and ‘Putri’ stands for daughter. She rides on a bull with a ‘trishul’ in her hand, representing ‘Action’. As per tradition, people wear red on this day and offer ghee to the goddess. Being vibrant and rich, donning red is a great way to get the excitement amped up for the days to follow.
Created By
Day 3: Goddess Durga as Chandraghanta
Known for peace and tranquillity, Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped on the 3rd day. She has three eyes and 10 hands, with a half circular moon on her forehead. In order to embody the beauty of the moon, people wear golden yellow and offer milk sweets to the goddess.
Created By
Day 2: Goddess Durga as Brahmacharini
Signifying care, love and loyalty, Goddess Durga wears royalblue in the form of Goddess Brahmacharini. She carries a rosary and ‘khumba’ in her hand and wears ornaments made from the sacred beads of ‘Rudraksha’. The name of the goddess translates to ‘strict piousness,’ so people wear deep blue garments as per religion and offer sugar.
Created By
Day 4: Goddess Durga as Kushmanda
On this day, Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped on a tiger. She stands for the universe, which is depicted by the devotees wearing green. Malpua sweets are offered.
Created By